I Ate Her Bagels!

I Ate Her Bagels!

by Cyrus Peikari, M.D.

Have you reached a plateau in your weight loss? It may be time to add calories!

Yes, it’s counter-intuitive: why would adding calories help you lose weight?

Most new patients I see are eating too little. They have been dieting for too long, which puts chronic stress on the body. And chronic stress makes your adrenal glands produce cortisol. (I talk about cortisol in my several of my other posts and videos). Once cortisol stays elevated, it seems that you gain weight even while barely eating.

I had the same problem. I was at a fat loss plateau for months. Luckily, one day Ramona brought home bagels and a brick of cream cheese. In the spirit of scientific research, I ate all of it myself. That’s right, each night for a week, right before bed, I added bagels and cream cheese…on top of all the other great food I was eating during the day.

I know that sounds harsh, to eat all that extra food; but I’m doing this for you guys. I’m willing to take the bullet for you!

The included picture shows the result after one week of adding extra bagels and cream cheese, right before bed every night.

bw5

As you can see, I lost half an inch on my waist, and gained lean mass on my chest, arms and shoulders: all without any extra workouts.

That’s right, temporarily adding more calories reduced my cortisol and turned me into a fat burning, muscle gaining machine. Welcome to Heaven!

It worked for me, and it can work for you. But check with your doctor first.

 

 

Leave a Reply

